Summer Of Revision

This has been quite a summer. I have had very little writing time. I have used some of the tools learned in the fiction class to revise my manuscript again and I am hopeful that I will begin the query process soon.

I would like to think that I will be able to have a book in print in at least one year. I have seriously thought about self-publishing but I am going to give traditional another try, because of the middle-grade genre.

My characters have all undergone make-overs and I have much more diversity in the book. Young people today have much of the same challenges that I did but also have a much more diverse world. They are also connected by social media, which make the world much smaller. We are connected to people of other cultures and beliefs more closely.

The little bit of my book that I shared with my class came under scrutiny because of my “Hallmark” writing style. I am trying to make it have more dimension without losing the innocence of the age of my characters. Making their problems a little harder to resolve has been a challenge.

I loved, Pollyanna, Heidi, Ann of Green Gables, Little House on the Prairie, and I still love Hallmark movies. I want to offer a book that touches on the problems that young people deal with without making them insurmountable. I love happy endings and in my books I will always want to eventually reach that positive resolution. I just have to balance that with the struggle they have to go through to get there.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful summer!

 

God Bless

Deb

 

Leave a Reply

